Art Lov(H)er Open Presentation Series

Highlighting & preserving women in Art

Art LovesHer: [painter/designer] Jaszmine Hawkins

DSCF9899Born and raised in New Jersey, but very familiar with the NYC life, Jaszmine Hawkins is interdisciplinary visual artist and founder of Villianous Visuals. Since featuring with Art LovHer in September 2013, this phenomenal female has been impacting the art world with her work. We caught up with the triple threat (Jaszmine balances being artist, model &entrepreneur)  as she prepares for next month’s Pancakes & Booze Art show coming to  M1-5 Bar in Soho April 16th; to talk art & life.

  1. When did you first begin doing what you do?Art always played a major role in my childhood, but I remember feeling like I was onto something during a project for my Senior art class. I had painted a random Abercrombie & Fitch Model, I remember looking at my usage of colors, styles, techniques and thought this was something I should look into further.
  2. When did you become serious about it, and pursue it as a life path? Would you consider what you do your life path?. Sophomore year in college was when I started realizing that Art was the only thing that makes sense to me. Based mainly on the fact that this can create chaos and diminish it as well. I found that fascinating and I knew that if anything could draw such intense emotions out of me, that is something I should be choosing as my life path, it is what I was planted here for.
  3. Why do you create? I create because like most humans I have a God complex, but instead of me trying to persuade people of whats right and wrong I decided to use my complex and creativity to expand my mind and give some food for other peoples imagination. I am a creator and destroyer naturally I just like that I can channel that through art.
  4. Who are some of your major influences/role models? Some of my major influences come from Frida Kahlo, Ron Mueck, Edgar Degas, Kara Walker, Takashi Murakami, Dali, Chuck Connelly, Basquiat,Anne Rice, and my Late Aunt.
  5. What inspires you? My inspirations comes from every part of my journey in this life. For example, I can get inspired at the way a ornate looking light fixture looks on a retro wall paper in a motel and or I can paint from intense emotion. Life is my ultimate muse.
  6. What advice would you give a nineteen year old creative who wants to make their thing into their whole life?  I would tell a young creative not to be upset if there is ever a time that you doubt your potential in this career path. If you find yourself creating not for only the sole purpose of trying to attain a financially stable life, when you create because you have to, because that how you express everything.10408727_800491153377618_2597133757467539613_n
  7. What’s one of the most rewarding parts of your work?  There are many things that are rewarding about this passion. The manifestation of a thought is outstanding. The ability to allow people to see your thoughts/visions is a God like power, but more importantly being able to inspire others to pursue their dreams.
  8. What’s one of the hardest? The most challenging thing about being a working artist, is that, you are mainly working a 9 to 5 for someone else in order to stay afloat as a young adult. A situation has not presented itself yet where I can gain the stability that I need to make art full time. I am working on being self sufficient very soon.
  9. How do you get through blocks in your creativity? I get through creative blocks by taking a hiatus on what I am working on at the time, work on another project, or do something drastically different like furniture building.
  10. How did you become affiliated with Art LovHer? A friend told me about this event and sent me the article about the Art LovHer at The Living Gallery. I inquired about a spot with Joi Sanchez and that was that.  That event had to be the livest show I had ever been a part of. I mean the people that came out to support had crazy artistic/ musical talent.
  11. If you use a stage/pen name, Where does your name come from? Villainous Visuals aka VV was something that came to me when I was looking at a series of my work and I was trying to come up with a site name. I consider my work to be wicked and I felt like my “stage name” needed to reflect that.
  12. What have you got coming up in the next couple of months? In April I am participating in another Pancakes and Booze show in NYC, I loved the first one, the crowd was eclectic and unbelievably talented. The, in May I have another group show in Philadelphia at a bar called the “Tattooed Mom”. Looking forward to getting more into the Philly scene.

 

Leave a Reply

March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

