Art Lov(H)er Open Presentation Series

Highlighting & preserving women in Art

Art Loves{H}er: Gabriel Don

As we celebrate our victories, Art LovHer is pleased to welcome Gabriel Don to the stage this month. This multi talented Australian transplant, raised in Dubai & Singapore. has been making waves in the New York Art scene for the past four years, sharing her infectious loving spirit through Art in every place that she goes. We caught up with the self describes gypsy woman to talk about the creative process and inspirations.

1. When did you begin your craft/art?
I asked my parents this question since I could not recall specifically and my father answered (inhabiting, his version of, my voice), “From when I could hold a crayon ……………… about 1 yo.” I remember or I remember being told the story that once I was put in my room on time-out for doing something naughty and left in there with crayons and white walls. When my time-out was over my parents discovered the wall was completely covered in colours, like a frieze, up to my two-year-old-height, as far as my arms could reach. It really depends on the medium I am expressing myself in. My mother constantly made sure my sister and I were involved in some craft or art such as drawing, drama, singing or writing so I suppose I began in childhood. Sounds cliché… but clichés are there for a reason: they are true for many.

2. What inspires you?
Everything.

3. Who would you say are some of your major influences?
Difficult question! In writing: Mavis Gallant, Zelda Fitzgerald, Simone de Beauvoir, Dorothy Parker and… I could go on and on and on and these are just people I admire. Hard to say who influences me because I am not outside myself analysing my work retrospectively. All my teachers and community, that is for sure.

4. What does being an artist mean to you?
Everything.

5. How do you get through creative blocks?
I don’t believe in them. I just vomit, freely flowing ideas and thoughts, creating instinctually like an artistic animal, acting on impulse. One can always refine later. I don’t believe in judging while I am producing so I am never blocked and there is always some activity to play with.

6. What advice would you give to a younger relative considering a future in the creative arts?
Study. This needn’t involve money. Find free events. Attend reading series. Meet your idols. Find mentors. Go to galleries. Have a list of the free days of museums pinned to your wall. Practise daily. Write three pages every single morning without putting your pen down, no pausing. Go out alone to interesting new places.
Find exercises and forms to restrict your craft within. Come visit me in New York.

7. How did you become affiliated with ArtLovHer?
I met Joi Sanchez last year at Ding Dong Lounge in the Upper West Side at a live painting event. We have since crossed paths in many capacities and they were kind enough to ask me to participate.

8. What does Victory mean to you?
The capital V means Vagina. The word then resonates as colonialism. Winning. Success. Then I think someone doesn’t need to go down, for another to go up.

9. What will you be sharing with the ArtLovHer family this month?
Probably excerpts of my short stories (and maybe a few poems) to do with the theme Victory. I am undecided exactly, possibly Slippery Eels and Assorted Lovers and Somewhere Else.

10. What projects are you working on this season, or for the summer, or later this year that you’d like to tell us about?
I’m hoping to finish two of my books. One is a collection of interviews with women writers on women and writing accompanied by photographs of them in their room of their own, where they write. The other is a collection of short stories called The Umbrella Acrobat.

20140415-012404.jpg

One comment on “Art Loves{H}er: Gabriel Don

  1. Pingback: Somewhere Else | gabrieldonwrites

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2014 by in feature artist profile and tagged , , , , , .
April 2014
M T W T F S S
« Sep   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

